Unlike other social media applications, Snapchat is a popular photo-sharing platform with all the fun features like real-time life updates, goofy selfies, and cute dog filters. In Snapchat, your shared media disappear after a few seconds, or if you go a step back. It can also become a kind of distraction and a risk to your online privacy. Here you will find step by step guides to delete Snapchat account and snap, all by yourself.
Do you want to take a break from Snapchat, or even permanently delete your account? Take a look at this guide to solve your problem.
How to delete a Snapchat account?
You first need to deactivate your account, and only after 30 days your account will be deleted. If your account is deactivated, your friends will not be able to interact with you on Snapchat. After 30 days of your deactivation request, your account will be permanently deleted. This means that your Snapchat account, snap friends, snaps, chats, story, and saved locations will also be deleted.
In case you want to reactivate your Snapchat account, log in within 30 days of the deactivation request, and everything will be restored entirely as before. To log in back, you need to remember your password as your password can’t be changed during that time. Sometimes it takes about 24 hours to reactivate your account, so be patient.
How to delete a Snapchat account on your computer?
Follow these steps to delete your account on your computer:
- Firstly go to the Snapchat login website.
2. Fill in your username, password, and log in to your account.
3. In Manage My Account, select “Delete My Account.”
4. Re-enter your password and click “Continue.”
5. Your account is deactivated.
How to delete your Snapchat account on mobile phones?
Follow these steps to delete your account on mobile phones, Android, or iOS:
- Launch the Snapchat app, and log in.
2. On the top-left corner, tap your Avatar.
3. Tap to the gear icon or settings icon on the top-right corner.
4. Under the Support section, choose “Help Center” or “I Need Help.”
5. Go to My Account and Security->Account Information->Delete my Account.
6. Select the “Accounts Portal” link, enter your username, password, and click Continue.
Your Snapchat account will be deactivated for 30 days and permanently deleted afterward.
How to delete snaps on Snapchat?
In Snapchat, your messages are automatically deleted once they are viewed or expired. Snapchat servers automatically delete the unopened snaps after 30 days. The snapchatters can save the snaps in chats by pressing and holding it. They can also delete the snaps on chats by pressing and holding it, then tapping “Delete” to delete it.
You can quickly delete snaps from your story and also from your Snapchat memories. Like other social apps, you have a feature to add snaps to your story. Because of some reasons, you want to delete them. Delete your story before someone takes a screenshot of your snap. Follow these simple steps to remove snaps from your story:
- Launch Snapchat.
- Swipe left on the camera screen to open the Stories page.
3. Choose the snap you want to delete from your story.
4. Tap the three-dot in the Upper-right corner.
5. In the lower-left corner, tap the trash can icon.
6. Tap “Delete.”
With these simple steps, you can quickly delete your added snaps from the Snapchat story. Once deleted, the snaps cannot be undone.